Contact: Michele Lawson, CSS ETA International Phone: (800) 288-3824 Fax: (765) 653-4287

5 Depot Street Greencastle, IN 46135 www.eta-i.org **ETA®** INTERNATIONAL



## PRESS RELEASE

## ETA Selects Award Recipients and Elects New Board of Directors

ETA<sup>®</sup> International is proud to have the most respected industry leaders as members of the not-for-profit professional trade association who share the mission to foster excellence in electronics through certification. ETA recently selected the annual award winners who made outstanding contributions to the electronics industry during the past year and elected the board of directors to lead the association for the next two years.

**Greencastle, December 21, 2016:** <u>ETA</u> recently recognized the contributions of an outstanding technician, educator and local chapter, all dedicated to the highest standards of electronics excellence with ETA's annual awards. Members also voted on the new <u>ETA Board of Directors</u> to promote the arts and sciences of electronics technology and to educate the members and the public in the advancement, improvement and uses of the services of trained and certified electronics technologs.

Those deserving recognition for their dedication and enthusiasm for the electronics industry and their willingness to volunteer at a moment's notice to represent their association include:

**Technician of the Year** – For outstanding service to electronics technicians, this award is given in honor of the late Norris R. Browne, president of the National Electronic Association (NEA) and a service business owner who worked hard to assure that the professionalism of the independent technician be maintained and championed. This award is presented annually to an individual who is recognized as having similar passion and character. The 2016 ETA Technician of the Year award is presented to Jay Thompson, CETsr; San Diego CA; Senior Field Technician, IWATSI.

**Educator of the Year** – This prestigious award is named in honor of Wallace "Wally" Medeiros, PhD, CETma, a US Veteran and retired communications worker who spent his retirement working as in instructor at Honolulu Community College and the U.S. military at Barbers Point, HI teaching, inspiring and working on course development. For outstanding dedication and devotion in the education of those pursuing careers in electronics and related fields, this award goes to Clarence Owen Jackson, FOT; Martinez GA; Ordnance Electronics Maintenance Training Department, US Army.

**Chapter of the Year** – For active involvement in the world of electronics, this award recognizes registered student and local chapters of ETA International and also supports a continuance of dedication to both the association and the electronics field itself. Center Point High School, Birmingham AL, is this year's ETA Chapter of the Year.

ETA members elected their fellow member technicians and educators to promote and guide the not-for-profit professional trade association. ETA Board of Directors includes professionals dedicated to the electronics industry willing to serve the association with the highest standards of excellence. The volunteers selected to serve ETA International for the 2017 and 2018 calendar years include:

Chairman – Ira Wiesenfeld, CETsr; Dallas TX; IWA Technical Services;

Vice Chairman – John Baldwin, CETs; Faribault MN

**Secretary** – Christopher Miller, CETsr; Towanda IL; Heartland Community College

Treasurer - Tommy Bonner, Ph.D.; Townsend TN; Viavi Solutions

**Communications Division Chair** – Shane Morris, CETma; Buckley WA; Motorola Solutions

**Communications Division Secretary/Treasurer** – Richard Agard, CET; Philadelphia PA; Philadelphia Fiber Optic Training

Education Division Chair – Douglas Hubert, EdD; Norton OH; University of Akron

*Education Division Secretary/Treasurer* – James 'Joe' Goudy; CETsr; Fairfield, IA; Indian Hills Community College

**Certified Technician Division Chair** – Judy Hill, CETsr; Oak Harber WA; Green Lion Training Services; ICOM

**Certified Technician Division Secretary Treasurer** – John Zieliniski, CETma; Lackawanna, NY **Shop Division Chair** – Kim Bozman, CSS; Salisbury MD; Teltronic Inc

**Shop Division Secretary/Treasurer** – Roderic Taylor, CET; Birmingham AL; Center Point High School

Cabling Division Chair - Paul Neukam, FOT-OSP; Huntingburg IN; SiteWise Systems

Cabling Division Secretary/Treasurer – Sean Sheedy, FOT-OSP; Meridian ID; Optical Resources

**Renewable Energy Division Chair** – Jay Warmke, PVI – Lv1, SMI – Lv1; Philo, OH; Blue Rock Station **Director of International Relations** – John Bakkeren, CETma; Brampton ON Canada; Peel Regional Police

Director of Student Chapter Relations – Sherrie Ferguson, EM1; Norfolk, VA Board of Masters Chair – J. Shane Morris, CETma: Buckley, WA; Motorola Solutions

<u>About ETA</u> - Since 1978, ETA has delivered over 200,000 professional certifications plus nearly 40,000 FCC license exams. Widely recognized and frequently used in worker job selection, hiring processes, pay increases, and advancements, ETA certifications are often required as companies bid on contracts. ETA's certifications are personal and portable worldwide, thus traveling with the individual, regardless of employment or status change. ETA certifications measure and validate competencies of persons, not products or vendors. All ETA certifications are accredited through the International Certification Accreditation Council (ICAC) and align with the ISO-17024 standard. www.eta-i.org

Download this press release at – www.eta-i.org/pr/ETA\_Selects\_Award\_Recipients\_and\_Elects\_New\_Board\_of\_Directors.pdf

# # #